Post Page

Here you will find articles, info, history and more.  There is plenty of good stuff  to explore!  Do you have something to say?  Information, Event, Story... Email us and  we will post it free of charge for individuals and non-profit organizations.

Spaghetti Dinner

posted Mar 19, 2019, 7:08 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Mar 19, 2019, 7:09 AM ]

Spaghetti Dinner

at the Village Square

March 23rd, at 5:30 p.m.

$10.00 for adults

$5.00 for children

Free for children age 5 and under.

Please reserve by March 20th

with Hilda at 645-2939 or by    

email to: villagevoice@hotmail.ca

Good Friday Event at the Village Square

posted Mar 13, 2019, 3:26 PM by Van koughnet   [ updated Mar 13, 2019, 3:28 PM ]




Good Friday Event at the Village Square
Friday April 19th 2019
Free Breakfast / Social 9:00 am
Family Service at 10:30 am
with contemporary music and a
brief message by George Vias
Bring Your Family to this Meaningful and moving event.

Sponsored by St. David's Church

Black River Yoga

posted Feb 13, 2019, 8:53 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Feb 13, 2019, 8:54 AM ]

Author's Evening at The Village Square - Jeremy Bates

posted Jan 2, 2019, 7:12 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Feb 2, 2019, 6:42 PM ]

You are invited to come out and share in the third Author's Evening at The Village Square.  It will take place on Thursday, February 7 at 7:00 p.m. in the Library.  Jeremy Bates, a USA Today and #1 Amazon bestselling author, will be with us to discuss his tales of mystery and horror.

Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will enjoy his 'World's Scariest Places' series which are set in real locations and so far include Suicide Forest (in Japan), The Catacombs (in Paris), Helltown (in Ohio), Island of the Dolls (in Mexico), and Mountain of the Dead (in Russia).  

Light refreshments will be served after our Q and A period.  Mr. Bates will have some books for sale and signing.  Admission is $2.00/person which goes to The Village Square and the Library.

Artist's/Author's Evening at The Square

posted Nov 25, 2018, 5:33 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Nov 25, 2018, 5:34 AM ]

With Christmas fast approaching, the Library Board invites you to come and share in an “Artist’s/Author's Talk” evening at the Village Square.  It will take place on Friday, December 21, 2018 at 7 p.m.

Gwen Boyes-Sitler, local artist and author, will read from her book entitled: “The Winnie Stories”. She will share a Christmas Story called “The Angel Choir” based upon the Christmas Concert held at the Orange Hall, Vankoughnet, in the mid-1950s. “The Winnie Stories” are a collection of stories based on childhood experiences of the author growing up in the Village of Vankoughnet during that time. 

Books will be available for purchase ($10.00) and signing.  Refreshments will follow the question and answer period.  $2.00/person will go to The Square.

Everyone is invited!

The Annual Christmas Dinner At The Village Square! 2018

posted Nov 10, 2018, 6:10 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Nov 10, 2018, 6:11 AM ]

The Annual Christmas Dinner At The Village Square!
Sat. Dec. 1, 2018, 5:30 p.m.
A very well attended event - Photo by Chris Varga

We will be serving: Turkey, mashed potatoes, turnip, peas & carrots, coleslaw, stuffing, cranberries, gravy and dessert. Please contact: Hilda 705-645-2939 or email villagevoice@hotmail.ca to reserve, also, advise as to how many children and ages will be attending as there will be a visit from “Santa Claus”. Volunteers would be appreciated! Students earn your community credits A free will donation would be gratefully accepted.

Armistice 100th anniversary Memorial

posted Nov 10, 2018, 5:45 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Nov 10, 2018, 5:52 AM ]

On November 11th, 2018 at 4:30pm please join us at St. Stephen's Anglican Church in Vankoughnet for a brief tribute in memory of the end of the First World War and the thousands of Canadians who fought and died. After the brief memorial in the Church the bell will be rung 100 times in Remembrance by ten volunteers. All are welcome.

This is the oldest known photo of St. Stephen's (consecrated in 1891) and may have been how the church appeared in 1918.
Photo provided by Jennifer Milne.


Black River Yoga

posted Nov 7, 2018, 6:15 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Nov 7, 2018, 6:24 AM ]


Gwen Dunlop
Certified Yoga Teacher (RYT 200
– Yoga Alliance).
For info and to confirm attendance
please call 705-645-5284

Black River Yoga
The Village Square
1198 Vankoughnet Road,
Bracebridge, P1L 1X1


Happy Hips Class
90 Minutes – Tuesdays at 7PM – $15 per class
– Saturdays 9AM – $15 per class
Expect to leave class feeling increased flexibility,
connectedness and balance overall


https://drive.google.com/file/d/15IW_gjgw_guExxqB86JVICqavWZltt6d/view?usp=sharing

November Schedule & News - St. David's Presbyterian Church

posted Oct 27, 2018, 5:30 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Oct 27, 2018, 5:39 AM ]

                                    

               NOVEMBER SCHEDULE AND NEWS

November 4th                       Jim Thomson

November 11th                     Reg McMillan

November 18th                     George Vais

November 25th                     George Vais

 

ITEMS OF INTEREST

Remember to turn your clocks back one hour on November 3rd
We will observe Remembrance Day on November 11th
The celebration of the Lord’s Supper will take place on December 2nd the first Sunday in Advent.
The lighting of the tree of lights will be held on December 2nd 4.30 p.m. at St. Stephen’s – You may bring your contributions to the Tree of Lights on any Sunday during Advent. The amounts collected will go to the Out of the Cold program and Interval House in Bracebridge.

Re: Memorial Fund

As of October 23rd the balance in in St. David’s Memorial Fund stands at $15,672.79. The Session is asking the congregation for input as to how this amount or part thereof should be spent. You may communicate your ideas to Graydon Boyes, Clerk of Session by January 15th next.


Authors night - AN EVENING WITH MATTHEW SITLER

posted Oct 17, 2018, 7:36 AM by Van koughnet   [ updated Oct 17, 2018, 7:36 AM ]

Please  join us for an EVENING WITH MATTHEW SITLER

Thursday, October 18, 2018

7:00 p.m. at The Village Square

1198 Vankoughnet Road

$2.00 entrance to go to The Square


The author will discuss his novel and books will be available for purchase and signing.

1-10 of 185